Cultural Workers Congress (Western Cape)

CWC was formed in Cape Town July 1988, i.e. after the Culture in Another South Africa (CASA) conference in Amsterdam 1987. CWC aimed to mobilise cultural workers in the struggle against apartheid, and was affiliated to the United Democratic Front (UDF). In 1989 the CWC restructured as an umbrella organization with affiliated organisations. CWC was active in the establishment of the Federation of SA Cultural Organisations (FOSACO). CWC disbanded after facilitating the formation of the Arts & Culture Development Network (ACDN) in 1994.

Registration list – CWC Launch pdf (2mb)

People listed here served on CWC’s executive committee (or steering committee), represented affiliates in General Councils, and/or represented CWC in national meetings.

Felicity Andrews (SACTWU)
Omar Badsha (Photoworkshop, CWC chairperson)
Nina Benjamin (Action Workshop)
Jon Berndt (FAWO)
Thuso Cheka (Action Workshop)
Gaby Cheminais (Visual Arts Group)
Sharief Cullis (FAWO)
Sandile Dikeni (COSAW, CWC chairperson)
Zena Dues (COSAW)
Andrea Fine (Action Workshop)
Kevin Gouveais (Manenberg Peoples Centre)
Rashid Lombard (MAPP)
Tokollo Mnyuka (Action workshop)
Eddy Maloka (Sansco)
Duke Ngcukana (MAPP)
Donald Parenzee (Cosaw)
Violet Maloyi Plaatjies (SADWU)
Krissen Pather (MAPP)
Mario Pissarra (Visual Arts Group, CWC general secretary)
Elphy Sibeko (Action Workshop)
Rushdy Siers (Cosaw)
Sipho Vanga (Young Peoples Theatre Education Trust)
Gavin Younge (Visual Arts Group)
Stacey Stent (Visual Arts Group)